WACRA Case Standards Setting Committee

The World Association for Case Method Research and Application (WACRA) is an international organization of professionals and academics from sixty countries whose purpose is to advance the use of the case method in teaching, training and planning; to encourage research using the case method; to coordinate case writing and case application activities; and to encourage cooperation between the public sector, business community and case-oriented professions.

Recognizing the divergence in the ways in which the writing and use of cases is regarded within the academic community, particularly in the evaluation process relating to promotion and tenure decisions, in June of 2001, a group of faculty met at the 18th International WACRA Conference in Lund Sweden to explore ways in which WACRA could support and promote case method research and application among academic institutions and associations.

A working group was formed at that meeting with plans to form a broad-based committee. An invitation was extended to WACRA members and representatives of other case method oriented organizations to participate in this project. In the fall of 2001, the WACRA Case Standards Setting Committee was formed with the following goals and objectives:

1. Promote case method research and application as scholarship.
2. Identify quality attributes in case method research and application.
3. Develop standards for excellence in case method research and application.
4. Promote the adoption of case method standards across disciplines and professional associations.
5. Promote the concept of a WACRA "Good House-Keeping Seal of Approval" for case method research and application.
The first official meeting of the Case Standards Setting Committee was held January 5, 2002 at the ACT5 Creative Teaching Conference in Vienna, Austria. At that meeting, the Committee made plans to survey the WACRA membership on the use of case method based teaching/learning/writing/research activities and their role in professional advancement.  Members of the Case Standards Setting Committee are listed below.

Contact the committee chair Joe Broder via email at jbroder@arches.uga.edu if you would like to participate in this effort.

Committee Member


E-mail Address

Joe Broder, Chair

University of Georgia


Bernard Beatty

Wake Forest University


Lars Bengtsson

Lund University


Taïeb Hafsi

HEC Montreal


Vital Roy HEC Montréal Case Center vital.roy@hec.ca

Amelia Klein

Wheelock College (Emeritus)


Hans Klein



Laurent Lapierre

HEC Montreal


Louis Mancusco

Xavier University


Joe McHugh

Bentley College, Retired


Vijaya Narapareddy

University of Denver


Bill Naumes

University of New Hampshire


Ron Patten

DePaul University  (Dean Emeritus)


C. P. Rao

Kuwait University


Al Rosenbloom

Dominican University

Eduardo Rosker Director of Knowment erosker@gmail.com

Denise Smith

WACRA Conference Center


Catherine Tobin

European Case Clearinghouse


David Wylie

Babson College